Wonderland inspired cooler

The Cheshire Cat's Grin

The Cheshire Cat’s Grin

Wonderland in a nutshell

Wonderland in a nutshell

“We’re all mad here”
Isn’t that the truth?
I wanted to have a unique cooler to take drinks to the pool in; lemonade, tea, flavored water. My inspiration was from Alice in Wonderland, one of my childhood favorites and my current favorites, thanks to the remake featuring Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter.

I bought this giant cooler at one of my favorite little stores Five Below. I was so excited when they got one in Greenville! It was originally blue and only cost me $5.

I’ve heard the best first step is to sand the cooler to make the base coat of white stick better (although I forgot this step because I was too eager to get started) and then paint away with a few layers of white acrylic paint.

After that, I would suggest painting the colors of the shapes first and work on the outline and detail later, it makes things a lot easier!

Another tip for putting your design on your cooler, draw it out first on paper and figure out just how big you want it and if some of the detail will be too small. Keep in mind you’ll be using a teeny tiny paintbrush! (I tried sharpie pen at one point and it bled really bad! Just try to find the absolute smallest pointed paintbrush you can!)

You can keep painting white over your mistakes but be cautious, too many layers will make the edge uneven and the paint peel easier.Finally, get a clear acrylic spray, which you can find in basically any art store. This will keep the paint from scratching off and from running if it gets wet.

Leave a Reply

